SolidWorks x64 Addin Wizard

03 May

If you run the SolidWorks x64 on Vista x64, and when you use the add-in Wizard to start your programming in SolidWorks x64, without adding a single line of code, compile and run it…

Yes, SolidWorks started, but your addin is not loaded!

Open the registry using Regedit.exe, and browse to Solidworks related branch, you can see, however, that the addin has registered itself in SolidWorks. Since this is the x64 version, you can see it in the Wow6432Node\SolidWorks, as shown below:

This indicate that SolidWorks is not ignorant of your addin, but why did SW not load it? The reason is that your assembly is not registered to the GAC! Searching your GUID (in my case, “26a9c88e-0871-4e0d-837c-d1d6b38ab89e”) in registry shows that the GUID appears only in the registry as shown above, and where is the assembly (DLL) located, is not notified to Windows Vista OS. To troubleshoot this, in your VisualStudio 2005 or 2008, in the postbuild command, input “%windir%\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\regasm $(TargetPath) /codebase” (do NOT input quotation marks), this will register your addin assembly to the GAC. Recompile and run, now it works!


Posted by on May 3, 2009 in CAD, Dotnet/C#


4 responses to “SolidWorks x64 Addin Wizard

  1. David Castello

    June 22, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    thanx for your site.
    my probleme is: when i run my my add they is nothing in the registry but solidworks open normaly

  2. David Castello

    June 22, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    i’m on windows seven 64 bit and solidworks 2010

  3. Nicolas

    June 26, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    Hi David,

    I have a quite weird problem with Solidworks since I reinstalled my OS.
    I have 2 computers running on Windows Seven X86 but my problem is similar to your article so I decided to post it there (it could be helpful for someone else).
    So, when I generate my add-in in Visual Studio (2010), th regestry keys for Titke and description are updated. More, if I change the name of the command group, the title whiwh appears in the top menu bar of SolidWorks is updated.
    But, And this is very strange, all the button in the “add-in menu” are grey and have the save name of the bottom button. So, if I have an add-in menu called “Add-in Menu” in which i have 3 button called “but1”, “but2” and “but3”, the three will have the same name “but3” and I can’t click o them.

    If you have a little time to answer me, it would be very nice.

    Best regards

  4. xinyustudio

    June 27, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    x86 is a different story and generally you should NOT have the same problem. This post deals with x64 configuration only. Moreover, this is the case for Solidworks 2008, and whether this had been fixed by Solidworks is unclear to me. I had left CAD/CAE/CAM fields for quite some time, and did not have a good catch on the recent updates. You might have a try from official Solidworks support. Good luck.


Leave a Reply

