RSS

Duplicate Toolbars/buttons after reinstalling Visual Studio .Net

29 Jul

My Visual Studio.Net crashes frequently and I then asked my colleague to reinstall it for me. Sadly, after reinstallation, the GUI becomes rather chaotic, with duplicate toolbar buttons as shown below:

clip_image002

I then resort to my colleague—expert in software group, but he complained that it was due to my installation of too many other software packages. I don’t think so. So I googled this, and finally find the below measure works:

  1. Close Visual Studio.Net
  2. type “%APPDATA%\Microsoft\VisualStudio\7.0\1033\” in Cmd window or Start> Run > type the command inside the quotation mark:

clip_image004

  1. Delete the above file in the above folder
  2. Re-start Visual Studio.net;

Oh, yeah!

clip_image006

Finally refresh the above folder, you will see a new CmdUI.PRF is created for you!

clip_image008

Note the file size difference. It is reasonable, you get this neat interface back, but you lost your customized preference! So be careful before action!

Happy coding!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 29, 2011 in MFC, Programming

 

Leave a Reply

 
